WEATHER CLIMATE WATER TEMPS CLIMAT EAU



WMO OMM

World Meteorological Organization
Organisation météorologique mondiale
Organización Meteorológica Mundial
Всемирная метеорологическая организация

した。

「おんしました」

「おんしました」

「中界气象组织

Secrétariat

7 bis, avenue de la Paix – Case postale 2300

CH 1211 Genève 2 – Suisse Tél.: +41 (0) 22 730 81 11 Fax: +41 (0) 22 730 81 81

wmo@wmo.int - public.wmo.int

2 November 2022

Our ref.: 23646/2022/I/SSU

Annexes: 2

Subject: Nomination of a national focal point to the RA I Dissemination Expert Group

Dear Sir/Madam,

The Regional Association I (RA I) Dissemination Expert Group (RAIDEG) for satellite data is a technical advisory body of the WMO RA I Committee on Infrastructure.

As you are aware, RAIDEG is tasked with the coordination of meteorological satellite data access and exchange including the expression of user requirements on a regional basis. RAIDEG was jointly created in 2010 by the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and the European Organization for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites (EUMETSAT) and has since served as an effective interface between users in RA I and EUMETSAT on all matters of satellite data access, exchange, and related capacity building.

Permanent Representatives of Members with WMO of RA I, in the letter 03749/2019/ OBS/SAT/RAIDEG of 20 February 2019, had earlier been urged and encouraged to nominate a national focal point for RAIDEG. To assure that requirements for satellite data are communicated to the satellite data providers operating in RA I, it is essential that each Member in RA I nominates a national focal point. We wish, therefore, to urge and encourage those countries that have not yet responded to the earlier request to nominate a focal point for RAIDEG, to do so at their earliest convenience, and preferably not later than **30 November 2022**.

Please see the tasks of the national focal point in Annex I which sets out the terms of reference and, in Annex II, you will find the current composition of RAIDEG. More information on RAIDEG can be found here on the RAIDEG community page.

I wish to thank you for your cooperation in supporting the work of WMO in RA I (Africa).

Yours faithfully,

Dr Wenjian Zhang for the Secretary-General

To: Permanent Representatives of Members of WMO in RA I

cc: Mr Daouda Konate, President of RA I Mr Phil Evans, Director General of EUMETSAT Mr Andre Kamga Foamouhoue, Director of ACMAD Mr. Mohamed Moussa, Director of ASECNA/EAMAC

TERMS OF REFERENCE OF THE RA I DISSEMINATION EXPERT GROUP (RAIDEG)

- (a) Collect, review, analyse and maintain requirements for satellite derived and other meteorological, hydrological, climate and environmental data and products expressed by NMHSs, VLab Centres of Excellence and WMO Regional Training Centres and partner organizations in Africa;
- (b) Analyse the requirements for accessing data and products, considering making use of EUMETCast or other data access and dissemination mechanisms;
- (c) Make recommendations on the data access infrastructure (e.g., PUMA stations), training needs and priorities for new generation of data & products and new ways to access and use the data;
- (d) Engage with SC-ON/ET-SSU activities to provide regional perspectives on satellite matters:
- (e) Promote and encourage the development of new visualization applications of data and products.

COMPOSITION OF THE RA I DISSEMINATION EXPERT GROUP

September 2022

National focal points

Members	Country
Mourad Benayeche	Algeria
Makondjou Diane Laourou	Benin
Georger Calvin Moti	Cameroon
Sarah Kimani	Kenya
Andrianambinina Raharisoa	Madagascar
Tareq Soubai	Morocco
Aristides Neves Domingos	Mozambique
Olumide Arike Olaniyan	Nigeria
Ahmed Hmam	Tunisia

Area/international organization representatives

Members	Country	Responsible for
Maixent Kambi	Congo-Brazzaville	Central Africa
Kwame Adu Agyekum	Ghana	JCOMM
Vacant	Kenya	Eastern Africa
Sarah Kimani (Chair)	Kenya	IMTR (CGMS VLab CoE)
Kumar Ram Dhurmea	Mauritius	Indian Ocean region
Tareq Soubai	Morocco	Northern Africa, DGM, CGMS, VLab CoE
Leon-Guy Razafindrakoto (Vice Chair)	Niger	ACMAD
Diakaria Kone	Niger	EAMAC/ASECNA, CGMS VIab CoE
Winifred Jordaan	SAWS	CGMS Vlab CoE
Abdoulaye Diouf	Senegal	Western Africa
Nico Kroese	South Africa	Southern Africa