WEATHER CLIMATE WATER TEMPS CLIMAT EAU

WMO OMM

World Meteorological Organization
Organisation météorologique mondiale
Organización Meteorológica Mundial
Всемирная метеорологическая организация

山本祖本

世界气象组织

Secrétariat

7 bis, avenue de la Paix – Case postale 2300 CH 1211 Genève 2 – Suisse Tél.: +41 (0) 22 730 81 11

Fax: +41 (0) 22 730 81 81 wmo@wmo.int – public.wmo.int

Our ref.: 20398/2024/CSG/EXR/HA

Annex: 1

The Secretariat of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) presents its compliments to the Permanent Missions to the United Nations Office and other international organizations in Geneva and has the honour to refer to WMO regulatory procedures regarding the appointment of a Hydrological Adviser.

The Secretariat has the further honour to request the kind assistance of the Permanent Missions in the transmission of the attached letter from the Secretary-General, Professor Celeste Saulo, to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The WMO Secretariat avails itself of this opportunity to renew to the Permanent Missions to the United Nations Office and other international organizations in Geneva the assurances of its highest consideration.

17 December 2024



WMO OMM





World Meteorological OrganizationOffice of the Secretary-General

Organisation météorologique mondialeBureau de la Secrétaire générale

Organización Meteorológica Mundial Oficina de la Secretaria General

Our ref.: 20397/2024/CSG/EXR/HA

Annex: 1

Всемирная метеорологическая организация

Бюро Генерального секретаря

المنظمة العالمية للأرصاد الجوية

مكتب الأمينة العامة 世界气象组织

秘书长办公室

17 December 2024

Your Excellency,

I have the honour to refer to WMO General Regulation 5(b) (Basic Documents No. 1 (WMO-No. 15)), regarding the appointment of a Hydrological Adviser, the extract of which is reprinted below for your easy reference:

Regulation 5

(b) Each Member shall appoint, in consultation with the Permanent Representative, a Hydrological Adviser who preferably should be the Director of the respective National Hydrological Service or other national hydrological agency. The Member shall notify the Secretary-General of such appointment. The Hydrological Adviser should be consulted by and advise the Permanent Representative with respect to operational hydrology and its application to water management.

In this respect, a review of the Secretariat records reflects that either no Hydrological Adviser has been appointed or reconfirmed since August 2019, by your government in accordance with the above referenced provisions. I attach for your review, a list of Hydrological Advisers to be appointed or reconfirmed, where appropriate. I therefore invite you to appoint or re-confirm a Hydrological Adviser for your Government, to ensure compliance with Regulation 5(b) under reference and that the Secretariat records are up-to-date accordingly.

This notification which should be addressed to the Secretary-General, must be received from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs or your country's Permanent Mission to the United Nations Office in Geneva.

I look forward to receiving your response at the earliest opportunity and no later than **28 February 2025** at the email address: cer@wmo.int.

Further details about the role and responsibilities of the Hydrological Adviser are available here. Any queries regarding the appointment process may be sent to Dr Stefan Uhlenbrook, Director Hydrology, Water and Cryosphere (suhlenbrook@wmo.int).

A copy of this letter is being sent to the Permanent Representative with the World Meteorological Organization, the Permanent Mission of your country to the United Nations Office in Geneva, and the Regional Hydrological Advisers.

Accept, Your Excellency, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Prof. Celeste Saulo Secretary-General

LIST OF HYDROLOGICAL ADVISERS FOR APPOINTMENT OR RECONFIRMATION UNDER GENERAL REGULATION 5(b)

Albania	Dr Klodian ZAIMI	To be reconfirmed
Algeria		To be appointed
Andorra		To be appointed
Angola		To be appointed
Antigua and Barbuda	Mr Ian LEWIS	To be reconfirmed
Azerbaijan	Mr Asif VERDIYEV	To be reconfirmed
Bahamas	Mr John A. A. BOWLEG	To be reconfirmed
Bangladesh	Mr Md. Saiful HOSSAIN	To be reconfirmed
Barbados	Dr John B. MWANSA	To be reconfirmed
Belarus	Ms Lyudmila ZHURAVOVICH	To be reconfirmed
Brunei Darussalam		To be appointed
Central African Republic		To be appointed
Chile	Mr Luis MORENO RUBIO	To be reconfirmed
Cook Islands		To be appointed
Côte d'Ivoire	Mr Diakaria KONE	To be reconfirmed
Cuba	Dr Eduardo PLANOS GUTIÉRREZ	To be reconfirmed
Curaçao and Sint Maarten	Eng. Martha H. PINEDO-MEDINA	To be reconfirmed
Democratic Republic of the Congo	Mr Olivier THAMBA UMBA	To be reconfirmed
Djibouti		To be appointed
Dominica	Dr Anderson WARD	To be reconfirmed
Eritrea	Mr Asmelash Dawit ANDEBERHAN	To be reconfirmed
Eswatini		To be appointed
Ethiopia		To be appointed
Fiji		To be appointed
Guinea	Mr Mandiou CONDE	To be reconfirmed
Guyana	Ms Vidayshree MISIR	To be reconfirmed
Honduras	Eng. Estéfana Mischelle VELÁSQUEZ LÓPEZ	To be reconfirmed
Jordan		To be appointed
Kiribati		To be appointed
Kuwait	Mr Dherar Hussain ALALI	To be reconfirmed
Kyrgyzstan	Ms Gulnara JUNUSHOVA	To be reconfirmed
Lebanon	Dr Selim CATAFAGO	To be reconfimed
Lesotho	Mr Motoho MASEATILE	To be reconfirmed
Lithuania	Mr Juozas SIMKUS	To be reconfirmed

Malawi		To be appointed
Maldives		To be appointed
Malta	Mr A. RIOLO	To be reconfirmed
Mauritius	Mr Lomush JUGGOO	To be reconfirmed
Micronesia, Federated States of	Mr Robert M. HADLEY	To be reconfirmed
Monaco		To be appointed
Mozambique	Mr Messias MACIE	To be reconfirmed
Nauru		To be appointed
New Caledonia	Mr Geoffroy WOTLING	To be reconfirmed
Niue	Mr Andre SIOHANE	To be reconfirmed
North Macedonia	Mr Vasko STOJOV	To be reconfirmed
Pakistan		To be appointed
Portugal		To be appointed
Qatar		To be appointed
Sao Tome and Principe	Mr Argentino DA COSTA VANGENTE	To be reconfirmed
Saudi Arabia	Dr Mohammed J. ABDUL-RAZZAK	To be reconfirmed
Senegal	Mr Niokhor NDOUR	To be reconfirmed
Sri Lanka	Eng. S.P.C. SUGEESHWARA	To be reconfirmed
Suriname		To be appointed
Tajikistan		To be appointed
Timor-Leste		To be appointed
Trinidad and Tobago	Mr Keith MEADE	To be reconfirmed
Turkmenistan		To be appointed
Uganda	Dr Benon Tamukedde ZAAKE	To be reconfirmed
Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of	Eng. Marielba GUILLÉN ORELLANA	To be reconfirmed
Yemen		To be appointed
Zambia	Mr Kenneth NYUNDU	To be reconfirmed
Zimbabwe	Mr Gilbert MAWERE	To be reconfirmed