WMO OMM

World Meteorological Organization Organisation météorologique mondiale

Secrétariat

7 bis, avenue de la Paix - Case postale 2300 - CH 1211 Genève 2 - Suisse

Tél.: +41 (0) 22 730 81 11 - Fax: +41 (0) 22 730 81 81

wmo@wmo.int - www.wmo.int

Weather • Climate • Water Temps • Climat • Eau

Our ref.:

RES/ARE/YSA-2014

GENEVA, 25 October 2013

Annex:

1

Subject:

WMO Research Awards for Young Scientists 2014

Action required: Submission of nominations before 3 February 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

CC:

The World Meteorological Organization Congress at its sixteenth session held in May 2011, encouraged its Members to continue to support the WMO Research Awards for Young Scientists through submission of papers related to atmospheric science and hydrology. It also approved the guidelines to be followed for the presentation of the award (see Annex).

In accordance with these guidelines, I have pleasure in inviting you to submit nomination of candidates for the 2014 award. The number of nominations submitted by each Permanent Representative should not exceed two. The nominations should be submitted together with four hard copies of the paper and short curriculum vitae of the candidate. It is also requested to send the electronic version of the paper via e-mail (are_res@wmo.int).

It would be most appreciated if your nominations for this award could be received by the above-mentioned date.

Yours faithfully,

(J. Lengoasa) for the Secretary-General

To: Permanent Representatives (or Directors of Meteorological or Hydrometeorological Services) of Members of WMO (PR-6724)

Hydrological Advisers to Permanent Representatives)

Directors of Regional Offices and Sub-regional Offices) (for information)

Members of the Executive Council Selection Committee)

WORLD METEOROLOGICAL ORGANIZATION

RES/ARE/YSA-2014, ANNEX

GUIDELINES TO BE USED FOR THE GRANTING OF WMO RESEARCH AWARDS FOR YOUNG SCIENTISTS

1. PURPOSES

The purpose of the WMO Research Awards is to encourage young scientists, preferable in developing countries, working in the fields of meteorology and hydrology.

2. CRITERIA FOR GRANTING AWARDS

- (i) Each award shall be made for an outstanding scientific research paper;
- (ii) Awards shall be made to young scientists up to the age of 35 at the time of nomination:
- (iii) Only one paper should be submitted for each candidate;
- (iv) Workers in all fields of meteorology and hydrology will be eligible, but members of the WMO Executive Council may not submit papers authored by themselves for the award;
- (v) Awards to nominees from a Region may be divided. The award may also be divided between two co-authors provided that both meet the other criteria for the granting of the award;
- (vi) Only papers which have been published in scientific journals will normally be eligible for consideration, however, a summary of a successfully defended PhD thesis would also be acceptable;
- (vii) Papers published in languages other than the working languages of WMO will be eligible for consideration if accompanied by full translations in one of the working languages and an extended summary;
- (viii) Only papers published during the four-year period immediately preceding the year in which the nomination is made will be eligible for consideration;
- (ix) Papers that have previously won international prizes will not be eligible.

3. METHOD OF SUBMISSION OF CANDIDATURES

- (i) All Permanent Representatives of Members of a WMO Regional Association will be invited to submit nominations during a specified period in accordance with a schedule established by the Secretary-General. Preference, however, should be given to the nomination of young scientists coming from developing countries who have prepared their work there;
- (ii) Nominations, together with four copies of papers in a WMO working language (original or translation) and an adequate summary, as well as a short curriculum vitae of the candidate, should be submitted by the Permanent Representatives to the president of the regional association concerned through the WMO Secretariat before a specified time limit;

(iii) The number of nominations submitted by each Permanent Representative should not exceed two.

4. METHOD OF SELECTION

- (i) Each president of a regional association should nominate three persons as assessors who should be distinguished scientists normally resident within the Region and who will not be themselves eligible for the awards. The Secretary-General should obtain a list of regional assessors to facilitate this procedure;
- (ii) Each assessor should allot a mark to each paper which should be a digit in the range 0 (lowest) to 5 (highest) and submit these evaluations to the president of the regional association. The evaluation should be based on the following: significance of topic, novelty of ideas and methods, value of results and quality of presentation, with equal weight being assigned to each of these sectors. On the basis of the expert's marks, the president of the regional association will forward to the Secretary-General the name of the candidate receiving the highest aggregate marks (if two candidates tie for top place both nominations may be submitted);
- (iii) The final selection of the award winner or winners from among the candidates from all Regions will be made by a Selection Committee of not more than four members of the Executive Council, specially constituted for this purpose at its session immediately following the Congress;
- (iv) The nominations submitted by each Region, together with the original papers, will be provided to each member of the Executive Council Selection Committee by the Secretary-General at least two months before a session of the Executive Council;
- (v) The Executive Council Selection Committee may not recommend an award if none of the papers submitted is of sufficiently high standard.

5. NATURE OF AWARDS

The award will consist of a citation and an amount of USD 1,000.

6. AWARDING CEREMONY

The arrangements for the presentation of the award will depend in each case upon the prevailing circumstances and will be decided by consultation between the Permanent Representative who submitted the nomination and the Secretary-General.